The South African Institution Of Civil Engineering
Follow us on:   

ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION







Purpose:

Environmental engineering is about the impact studies of the social and natural environment. It focuses on the impact of civil engineering on the environment and creates an effective balance between the two.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Stan Jewaskiewitz Chair & Council Representative +27 11 425 2810 stan@envitech.co.za
Francois Marais Treasurer + +27 11 254 4800 fmarais@golder.co.za

GEOTECHNICAL DIVISION

Promoting expertise in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and working with engineering geologists in the allied field of rock mechanics.
Rooted in African soil!




Purpose:

To promote co-operation amongst scientists and engineers, to encourage the interchange of knowledge and ideas, to disseminate the results of research work or innovative construction techniques in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and to foster the application of safe, economic, practical and modern geotechnical methods in South Africa. These aims are achieved by active participation in affairs of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering, by assisting in the organisation of the regional conferences and symposia, by arranging meetings throughout the year at various centres in the country, as well as educational courses for practising engineers, and the publication of a newsletter. Close ties are maintained with engineering geologists as well as those specialists in the allied field of rock mechanics.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Michelle Theron Chair and Council Representative +27 11 234 4198 michelle@rustgeotechnical.co.za
Nicol Chang Secretary +27 11 531 2715 nicol.chang@esorfranki.co.za
Heather Davies Treasurer, Supporting Members, Sponsors +27 12 421 3500 heatherd@bks.co.za

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION







Purpose:

To promote the science and art of the use of electronic computers in the field of civil engineering by the dissemination of information relating to electronic computational procedures and apparatus, and by holding formal and informal meetings relating to these subjects.

Name: Designation: Tel:   Email:
Peter Webb Chair +27 11 803 8834 +27 83 266 7526 peter@technocad.co.za
Bill Jones Vice Chair +27 11 798 6000 +27 82 454 7520 billj@ssi.co.za
Chris Dickson Treasurer +27 41 507 8238 +27 82 453 6441 chris.dickson@hmgjv.co.za
Brenda v Strasheim Breda vB Strasheim +27 21 808 4435 +27 83 289 4879 javbs@sun.ac.za




Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Hylton Macdonald Chair & Council Representative +27 11 779 2805 hylton.macdonald@avenggroup.com
Andy Griffiths Vice Chair +27 11 236 3300 andyg@goba.co.za
Alain Jacquet Secretary: Communications & Members Data Base +27 11 447 1027 ajacquet@ssinc.co.za
Michael Cullen Treasurer; Sponsors; Supporting Members F 0866 16 5696 michael.mjca@gmail.com
Andrew Baird NEC Specialist +27 11 803 3008 andrew@ecs.co.za

Working together to look after the interests and development of structural engineers both in South Africa and internationally.





Purpose:

To advance the theoretical knowledge and practice of structural engineering, to encourage the improvement of standards and techniques, and to enhance the standing of this branch of the profession.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
AJ Smith Chair +27 31 765 5990 ajs@buildsa.co.za
G Theodosiou Vice-Chair +27 11 315 0300 gary@cnci.org.za
M Visser Secretary +27 79 871 4542 m.visser@mweb.co.za
Spencer Erling Treasurer; Sponsors; Supporting Members +27 11 726 6111 spencer@saisc.co.za




Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Jonas Tshikundamalema Chair +27 15 297 7797 tjonas@mweb.co.za
Tim Staples Vice-Chair, Bridge Building & Treasurer +27 11 344 0269 tim.staples@sasol.com
Zukiswa Mvoko Secretary , alt council rep +27 71 034 8465 mvokozukie33@gmail.com
Ashwin Mohanlal Communications & Members Data Base +27 11 637 6110 amohanlal@anglogoldashanti.com
Hamish Riddet CPD; Career Guidance, Action Cricket
and SAICE Marketing
+27 11 637 6371 hriddet@anglogoldashanti.com
Werner Jerling Ex-Acting Chair & Council Representative +27 11 552 4011 werner.jerling@stefstocks.com
Malcolm Pautz Ex-Chair 2009/2010, EB Representative +27 11 294 3474 malcolmp@nedbankcapital.co.za
Ntsoli Maiketso Dispute Resolution/Procurement +27 12 683 1200 nmaiketso@tcta.co.za
Greg Skeen Website & Communication +27 82 374 5551 skeengregory@gmail.com
Neville Gurry SAFCEC Representative +27 11 409 0905 neville@safcec.org.za

RAILWAY & HARBOUR DIVISION

The planning, design, construction and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, harbours and pipelines.
Keeping you on track and afloat!




Purpose:

To advance and expand the science and practice of civil engineering in the provision and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, road and motor services, harbours, airways, and pipelines, and to promote the civil engineering profession in the above field. This is pursued by the holding of meetings, site visits and social gatherings.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Hannes Gräbe Chair +27 12 450 4723 hannes.grabe@up.ac.za
Gert Ludick Vice Chair +27 11 878 7166 gert.ludick@transnet.net
Deepak Budhram Treasurer +27 11 773 5829 deepak.budhram@transnet.net
Johan de Koker Council Representative +27 11 559 6540 johandk@uj.ac.za
Esme Steffen Secretary +27 11 849 8786 lpprojects@mweb.co.za

Planning, design and safe operation of highways, roads, airport runways, streets and their relationships with adjacent land and other modes of transportation. Keeps you moving!




Purpose:

To advance the study, knowledge and application of engineering dealing with planning, design and operation of highways, roads and streets, their networks, terminals, abutting land and relationships with other modes of transportation.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
André Frieslaar Chair & Council Representative +27 21 425 2870 andre@hho.co.za
Marius Kruger Secretary; Members Data Base +27 218 7634 marius.kruger@arup.com
Christo Bester Treasurer; Sponsors; Supporting Members +27 21 808 4377 cjb4@sun.ac.za
Lynne Pretorius Treasurer +27 21 685 0350 lpretorius@pedulumsa.co.za
Pieter Pretorius Past Chair and Career Guidance +27 12 349 1664 pieter@itse.co.za

WATER DIVISION

The promotion of the art and science of water engineering. This is achieved by the dissemination of information, by the publication of hydraulic engineering papers, reports and articles by the holding of meetings and symposia and by the organisation of visits to works of hydraulic engineering interest. The division also seeks to promote hydraulic engineering research and to encourage students to study in the field. The division furthermore interacts closely with the South African National Committee of the Engineering Committee for Oceanic Resources in promoting coastal engineering.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:
Francis Gibbons Chair & Council Representative +27 11 798 6200 francisg@ssi.co.za
Debbie Besseling Vice-Chair +27 84 371 7190 idubemedia@live.co.za
Mlindi Makhabane Secretary +27 11 425 2810 makhabane@jaws.co.za
Kevin Pillay Treasurer +27 11 566 8305 kevinp@pdna.co.za

View our wide range of publications. Click below to order now.



randair

Latest News


Address by Adv. Thuli Madonsela during the Civilution Congress

2014-04-22


SAICE Council Meeting - April 2014

2014-04-17


Tom McKune receives meritorious award at 2014 AGM

2014-04-17


Civil Engineers unite to face challenges

2014-04-16