The South African Institution Of Civil Engineering
Follow us on:   

ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION







Purpose:

Environmental engineering is about the impact studies of the social and natural environment. It focuses on the impact of civil engineering on the environment and creates an effective balance between the two.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Jabu Mahlangu

Chair & Council Representative

+27 82 541 5732

jabu@triakon.co.za

Michael Palmer

Treasurer

+27 83 226 2754  

palmer@jaws.co.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za

Francois Ilunga

Education & Training

+ 27 72 424 6104

ilungm@unisa.ac.za

Mahlatse Mokwatlo

Website & Marketing

+27 79 502 1668

mahlatse@triakon.co.za


GEOTECHNICAL DIVISION

Promoting expertise in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and working with engineering geologists in the allied field of rock mechanics.
Rooted in African soil!




Purpose:

To promote co-operation amongst scientists and engineers, to encourage the interchange of knowledge and ideas, to disseminate the results of research work or innovative construction techniques in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and to foster the application of safe, economic, practical and modern geotechnical methods in South Africa. These aims are achieved by active participation in affairs of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering, by assisting in the organisation of the regional conferences and symposia, by arranging meetings throughout the year at various centres in the country, as well as educational courses for practising engineers, and the publication of a newsletter. Close ties are maintained with engineering geologists as well as those specialists in the allied field of rock mechanics.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Nicol Chang

Chair and Council Representative

+27 11 531 2715

nicol.chang@esorfranki.co.za

Trevor Green

Secretary

+27 87 806 2880

trevor@verdicon.co.za

Heather Davies

Treasurer, Supporting Members, Sponsors

+27 12 421 3500

heatherd@bks.co.za


INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION







Purpose:

To promote the science and art of the use of electronic computers in the field of civil engineering by the dissemination of information relating to electronic computational procedures and apparatus, and by holding formal and informal meetings relating to these subjects.

Name: Designation: Tel:   Email:

Peter Webb

Chair

+27 11 803 8834

+27 83 266 7526

peter@technocad.co.za

Bill Jones

Vice Chair

+27 11 798 6000

+27 82 454 7520

billj@ssi.co.za

James Anafi

Treasurer

+27 11 886 6951

+27 73 995 2228

jamesa@robhitch.co.za





Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Hylton Macdonald

Chair & Council Representative

+27 11 779 2805

hylton.macdonald@avenggroup.com

Andy Griffiths

Vice Chair

+27 11 236 3300

andyg@goba.co.za

Alain Jacquet

Secretary: Communications & Members Data Base

+27 11 447 1027

ajacquet@ssinc.co.za

Michael Cullen

Treasurer; Sponsors; Supporting Members

F 0866 16 5696

michael.mjca@gmail.com

Andrew Baird

NEC Specialist

+27 11 803 3008

andrew@ecs.co.za


Working together to look after the interests and development of structural engineers both in South Africa and internationally.





Purpose:

To advance the theoretical knowledge and practice of structural engineering, to encourage the improvement of standards and techniques, and to enhance the standing of this branch of the profession.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Marelize Visser

Chairman and Council Representative

+27 79 871 4542

marelize@jsd.co.za

Colin Sillman

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

+ 27 83 442 2080

colin@jsd.co.za

Tony Smith

Secretary/Immediate Past Chairman

+27 31 765 5990

tony@jsd.co.za





Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Jonas Tshikundamalema

Chair

+27 15 297 7797

tjonas@mweb.co.za

Tim Staples

Vice-Chair, Bridge Building & Treasurer

+27 11 344 0269

tim.staples@sasol.com

Zukiswa Mvoko

Secretary , alt council rep

+27 71 034 8465

mvokozukie33@gmail.com

Ashwin Mohanlal

Communications & Members Data Base

+27 11 637 6110

amohanlal@anglogoldashanti.com

Hamish Riddet

CPD; Career Guidance, Action Cricket
and SAICE Marketing

+27 11 637 6371

hriddet@anglogoldashanti.com

Werner Jerling

Ex-Acting Chair & Council Representative

+27 11 552 4011

werner.jerling@stefstocks.com

Malcolm Pautz

Ex-Chair 2009/2010, EB Representative

+27 11 294 3474

malcolmp@nedbankcapital.co.za

Ntsoli Maiketso

Dispute Resolution/Procurement

+27 12 683 1200

nmaiketso@tcta.co.za

Greg Skeen

Website & Communication

+27 82 374 5551

skeengregory@gmail.com

Neville Gurry

SAFCEC Representative

+27 11 409 0905

neville@safcec.org.za


RAILWAY & HARBOUR DIVISION

The planning, design, construction and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, harbours and pipelines.
Keeping you on track and afloat!




Purpose:

To advance and expand the science and practice of civil engineering in the provision and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, road and motor services, harbours, airways, and pipelines, and to promote the civil engineering profession in the above field. This is pursued by the holding of meetings, site visits and social gatherings.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Gert Ludick

Chair

+27 11 878 7166

gert.ludick@transnet.net

Jackie vd Westhuizen

Vice Chair

27 11 82 376 0959

jackie@resolvesp.com

Chris Norden

Treasurer

+27 11 773 8872

Chrisels.norden@vodamail.co.za

Gert Ludick

Council Representative

+27 11 878 7166

gert.ludick@transnet.net

Esme Steffen

Secretary

+27 11 849 8786

lpprojects@mweb.co.za


Planning, design and safe operation of highways, roads, airport runways, streets and their relationships with adjacent land and other modes of transportation. Keeps you moving!




Purpose:

To advance the study, knowledge and application of engineering dealing with planning, design and operation of highways, roads and streets, their networks, terminals, abutting land and relationships with other modes of transportation.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Madeleen Engelbrecht

Chair & Council Representative

+27 82 781 4461

madeleen.engelbrecht@arup.com

Robin Chetty

Vice-Chair

+27 83 329 2029

robin.chetty@durban.gov.za

André Frieslaar

Past Chair, Training Courses and Conferences

+27 83 652 0112

andre@hho.co.za

Lynne Pretorius

Treasurer

084 616 3753

lynne@itse.co.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za

Kollan Pillay

Marketing & Communications

+27 84 522 9966

kollan.pillay@arup.com

Friedrich Slabbert

Outreach Programme

082 600 5798

heedful@mweb.co.za

Mehboob Babamia

Industry Liaison & Integration

+27 82 894 8063

mehboobb@tshwane.gov.za


WATER DIVISION

The promotion of the art and science of water engineering. This is achieved by the dissemination of information, by the publication of hydraulic engineering papers, reports and articles by the holding of meetings and symposia and by the organisation of visits to works of hydraulic engineering interest. The division also seeks to promote hydraulic engineering research and to encourage students to study in the field. The division furthermore interacts closely with the South African National Committee of the Engineering Committee for Oceanic Resources in promoting coastal engineering.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Kevin Pillay

Chair & Council Representative

+27 11 052 1000/5

kevin.pillay@mottmac.com

Prof Fanie van Vuuren

Vice-Chair

+27 12 420 2438

fvuuren@eng.up.ac.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za

Ken Haumann

Treasurer

+27 11 052 2406

Ken.haumann@mottmac.com


View our wide range of publications. Click below to order now.



randair

Latest News


Cuban engineers – their import leads to SA export!

2015-03-03


Western Cape – Presidential Branch Visit 16-18 March 2015

2015-03-03


Transitional generations and the needs of young engineers

2015-02-17


What’s hot and happening at E&T for 2015

2015-02-17


View Past Newsletters