The South African Institution Of Civil Engineering
Follow us on:   

ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION







Purpose:

Environmental engineering is about the impact studies of the social and natural environment. It focuses on the impact of civil engineering on the environment and creates an effective balance between the two.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Jabu Mahlangu

Chair & Council Representative

+27 82 541 5732

jabu@triakon.co.za

Michael Palmer

Treasurer

+27 83 226 2754  

palmer@jaws.co.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za

Francois Ilunga

Education & Training

+27 72 424 6104

ilungm@unisa.ac.za


GEOTECHNICAL DIVISION

Promoting expertise in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and working with engineering geologists in the allied field of rock mechanics.
Rooted in African soil!




Purpose:

To promote co-operation amongst scientists and engineers, to encourage the interchange of knowledge and ideas, to disseminate the results of research work or innovative construction techniques in the field of soil mechanics and foundation engineering, and to foster the application of safe, economic, practical and modern geotechnical methods in South Africa. These aims are achieved by active participation in affairs of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering, by assisting in the organisation of the regional conferences and symposia, by arranging meetings throughout the year at various centres in the country, as well as educational courses for practising engineers, and the publication of a newsletter. Close ties are maintained with engineering geologists as well as those specialists in the allied field of rock mechanics.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Trevor Green

Chair and Council Representative

+27 87 806 2880

trevor@verdicon.co.za

Solly Phalanndwa

Secretary

+27 83 634 5918

solly.phalanndwa@arup.com

Heather Davis

Treasurer

+27 83 650 6391

heather@verdicon.co.za


INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION







Purpose:

To promote the science and art of the use of electronic computers in the field of civil engineering by the dissemination of information relating to electronic computational procedures and apparatus, and by holding formal and informal meetings relating to these subjects.

Name: Designation: Tel:   Email:

Peter Webb

Chair

+27 11 803 8834

+27 83 266 7526

peter@technocad.co.za

William Jones

Vice Chair

 

+27 82 454 7520

william.jones@rhdhv.com

James Anafi

Treasurer

+27 11 886 6951

+27 73 995 2228

jamesa@robhitch.co.za





Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Alain Jacquet

Chair

+27 83 252 7819

chairman@ice-sa.org.za

Hylton Macdonald

ICE Country Representative

+27 82 375 6800

icerep@ice-sa.org.za

Marshall Muthen

Vice-Chair

+27 82 049 3941

vice-chair@ice-sa.org.za

Andrew McJannet

Secretary

+27 82 450 4362

secretary@ice-sa.org.za


Working together to look after the interests and development of structural engineers both in South Africa and internationally.





Purpose:

To advance the theoretical knowledge and practice of structural engineering, to encourage the improvement of standards and techniques, and to enhance the standing of this branch of the profession.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Marelize Visser

Chairman and Council Representative

+27 79 871 4542

marelize@jsd.co.za

Colin Sillman

Vice Chairman and Treasurer

+ 27 83 442 2080

colin@jsd.co.za

Tony Smith

Secretary/Immediate Past Chairman

+27 31 765 5990

tony@jsd.co.za


The Marine Division is about working in the coastal environment as a civil engineering discipline.


Purpose:

The Marine Division supports the science and practice of port, harbour, coastal and ocean engineering and the professional endeavors of civil engineers working in these fields. The division seeks to advance and promote an understanding of the coast and address coastal issues that are of critical importance to the country. In general it promotes communication between members by regular meetings, seminars and symposia and by bringing international conferences to South Africa.

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Keith Mackie

Chair

+27 21 790 2263
+27 84 616 2263

keith@mackie.co.za

Tim Milner

Secretary

+27 21 386 2610

tim.milner@stefstocks.com

Kishan Tulsi

Vice Chair

+27 82 542 9000

ktulsi@csir.co.za

Ryan Abrey

Treasurer

 

rabrey@prdw.com

Click here for More Information





Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Giuseppe De Simone

Chairperson

+27 82 443 7987

Giuseppe.DeSimone@stefstocks.com

Ntsoli Maiketso

Vice-Chairperson

+27 12 683 1393

NMaiketso@tcta.co.za

Danie Rohde

Treasurer

+27 12 427 2204

daneie.rohde@aurecongroup.com

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za

Charl Botha

Committee Member

+27 11 321 7200

charl_botha@wbho.co.za

Alain Jacquet

Committee Member

+27 11 728 9492

ajacquet@sabeex.co.za

Ashwin Mohanlal

Committee Member

+27 11 637 6110

amohanlal@anglogoldashanti.com

Michael Moloto

Committee Member

+27 79 497 0779

michael@m2mprojects.co.za

Zukiswa Mvoko

Committee Member

+27 76 877 4116

mvokozukie33@gmail.com

Malcolm Pautz

Committee Member

+27 83 387 9952

malcolmp@genesis-analytics.com

Dominic Singery

Committee Member

+27 31 536 9416

dsingery@hatch.co.za


RAILWAY & HARBOUR DIVISION

The planning, design, construction and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, harbours and pipelines.
Keeping you on track and afloat!




Purpose:

To advance and expand the science and practice of civil engineering in the provision and maintenance of facilities for transport by railways, road and motor services, harbours, airways, and pipelines, and to promote the civil engineering profession in the above field. This is pursued by the holding of meetings, site visits and social gatherings.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Gert Ludick

Chair

+27 11 878 7166

gert.ludick@transnet.net

Jackie vd Westhuizen

Vice Chair

27 11 82 376 0959

jackie@resolvesp.com

Chris Norden

Treasurer

+27 11 773 8872

Chrisels.norden@vodamail.co.za

Johan de Koker

Council Representative

+27 83 388 8164

johandk@uj.ac.za

Esme Steffen

Secretary

+27 11 849 8786

lpprojects@mweb.co.za


Planning, design and safe operation of highways, roads, airport runways, streets and their relationships with adjacent land and other modes of transportation. Keeps you moving!




Purpose:

To advance the study, knowledge and application of engineering dealing with planning, design and operation of highways, roads and streets, their networks, terminals, abutting land and relationships with other modes of transportation.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Robin Chetty

Chair, Council, Functions

+27 83 329 2029

robin.chetty@durban.gov.za

Jarenda Reddy

Vice Chair

+27 82 371 0334

jreddy@hatch.co.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za


WATER DIVISION

The promotion of the art and science of water engineering. This is achieved by the dissemination of information, by the publication of hydraulic engineering papers, reports and articles by the holding of meetings and symposia and by the organisation of visits to works of hydraulic engineering interest. The division also seeks to promote hydraulic engineering research and to encourage students to study in the field. The division furthermore interacts closely with the South African National Committee of the Engineering Committee for Oceanic Resources in promoting coastal engineering.

Website: Click here to see the website

Name: Designation: Tel: Email:

Marco van Dijk

Chair & Council Representative

+27 83 394 8627

Marco.Vandijk@up.ac.za

Segomotso Kelefetswe

Vice Chair

+27 82 803 1670

skelefetswe@tcta.co.za

Debbie Besseling

Secretary

+27 74 925 7652

debbie@saice.org.za


View our wide range of publications. Click below to order now.



Latest News


Price Tag

2016-07-30


AQUALIBRIUM – changing learners’ lives one water competition at a time!

2016-07-21


Avant-garde Forum Objectives

2016-07-21


Avant-garde Submission Process

2016-07-21


View Past Newsletters

View #Engage Past Editions